Rehearsal Schedule and Scoring

Please see below for the scoring of works and for the BPO rehearsal schedule.  All BPO rehearsals are at the Brentwood Ursuline Convent High School, Queens’ Road, Brentwood, Essex CM14 4EX unless otherwise specified.  Tuesday rehearsals are 7.45-9.45 pm and Sunday rehearsals are 2.30-5.00 pm.  The rehearsals are for full orchestra unless otherwise specified. There is a final rehearsal for the whole orchestra on the day of the concert at the venue of the concert.

Please note that, except for May's film music concert, the concert dress for BPO concerts is black shirts and trousers (no dinner jackets or bow ties) for men and all black for women.

For the May film music concert, please wear a coloured top of one (preferably bright) colour - not patterned.  You may wish to discuss with your desk partner to avoid clashes!
 
Hard copies of the music (with the string parts bowed) will be available at the first rehearsal for the relevant concert (and for the February concert will be distributed during the rehearsals for the October concert). In order to prepare for the rehearsals you may however wish to download your part for free from www.imslp.org.  This site has scores and separate instrumental parts for thousands of works which are out of copyright.  It has all the music for the October concert and the Mussorgsky and Tchaikovsky for the February concert. Leonard Bernstein's marked scores and parts for many works are available for study on archives.nyphil.org. Can be useful for fingerings in the string parts.


Saturday 13 October 2018
7.30 p.m.
St Thomas' Church
St Thomas Road
Brentwood 
Essex CM14 4DF

Mozart            Overture to Cosi fan Tutte K588  2 2 2 2; 4 2 0 0; Timp, Strings  (Please note change of work)
Mozart            Concerto for Flute & Harp K299  0 2 0 0; 2 0 0 0; Strings
Tchaikovsky    Symphony No 6 (the Pathetique) 3/1 2 2 2; 4 2 3 1; Timp, Bass drum, Cymbals, Tam-Tam, Bell, Strings

Flute              Isobel Liebman
Harp              Hilary Barkwith
Conductor     Bradley Winand
Leader          Charles Clark

Rehearsals at BUCHS on Sunday 16 September, Tuesday 18 September, Sunday 23 September (strings only), Tuesday 25 September (strings only - venue to be confirmed), Sunday 30 September, Tuesday 2 October, Sunday 7 October, Tuesday 9 October and at 2.00pm at St Thomas's Church on the concert day, Saturday 13 October.
 

Saturday 9 February 2019
7.30 p.m.
St Thomas' Church
St Thomas Road
Brentwood 
Essex CM14 4DF

Conductor      Florian Cooper
Violin              Rose Hinton
Leader            Charles Clark

We are delighted to welcome Florian Cooper to our family of conductors and to welcome Rose Hinton as soloist in Tchaikovsky's violin concerto. 

Mussorgsky       Prelude to Khovanschina (Dawn over the Moskva River)  2 2 2 2; 4 0 0 0; Timp Tam-Tam Harp Strings
Tchaikovsky       Violin Concerto 2 2 2 2; 4 2 0 0; Timp Strings
Shostakovich     Symphony No 5  2+1 2 2+1 2+1; 4 3 3 1; Timp, Snare, Triangle, Cymbals, Bass drum, Tam-Tam, Glock, Xylophone,Harp, Piano, Celeste, Strings

Rehearsals at BUCHS on Sunday 6 January, Tuesday 15 January (venue to be confirmed), Sunday 20 January (strings only), Tuesday 22 January, Sunday 27 January, Tuesday 29 January, Sunday 3 February, Tuesday 5 February and at 2.00pm at St Thomas's Church on the concert day, Saturday 9 February.

Saturday 18 May 2019
7.30 p.m.
St Thomas' Church
St Thomas Road
Brentwood 
Essex CM14 4DF

Concert of Film Music
Conductor     David Pickthall
Leader           Charles Clark
Rehearsals at BUCHS on Tuesday 23 April, Sunday 28 April, Tuesday 30 April, Tuesday 7 May, Sunday 12 May, Tuesday 14 May and at 2.00pm on the concert day, Saturday 18 May.  There is no rehearsal on Sunday 5 May owing to the May Day bank holiday.  This means there are only 6 rehearsals plus the one on the day. 

Other details to follow.