Rehearsal Schedule and Scoring

Please see below for the scoring of works and for the BPO rehearsal schedule.  All BPO rehearsals are at the Brentwood Ursuline Convent High School, Queens’ Road, Brentwood, Essex CM14 4EX unless otherwise specified.  Tuesday rehearsals are 7.45-9.45 pm and Sunday rehearsals are 2.30-5.00 pm.  The rehearsals are for full orchestra unless otherwise specified. There is a final rehearsal for the whole orchestra on the day of the concert at the venue of the concert.

Please note that, except for May's film music concert, the concert dress for BPO concerts is black shirts and trousers (no dinner jackets or bow ties) for men and all black for women.

For the May film music concert, please wear a coloured top of one (preferably bright) colour - not patterned.  You may wish to discuss with your desk partner to avoid clashes!
 
Hard copies of the music (with the string parts bowed) will be available at the first rehearsal for the relevant concert if not distributed at the final rehearsal of the previous concert. In order to prepare for the rehearsals you may however wish to download your part for free from www.imslp.org.  This site has scores and separate instrumental parts for thousands of works which are out of copyright.  It has the music for the Mussorgsky and Tchaikovsky for the February concert. Leonard Bernstein's marked scores and parts for many works are available for study on archives.nyphil.org. Can be useful for fingerings in the string parts.


Saturday 9 February 2019
7.30 p.m.
St Thomas' Church
St Thomas Road
Brentwood 
Essex CM14 4DF

Conductor      Florian Cooper
Violin              Krassimira Jeliazkova-Jones
Leader            Charles Clark

We are delighted to welcome Florian Cooper to our family of conductors and to welcome Krassimira Jeliazkova-Jones as soloist in Tchaikovsky's violin concerto. 

Mussorgsky       Prelude to Khovanschina (Dawn over the Moskva River)  2 2 2 2; 4 0 0 0; Timp Tam-Tam Harp Strings
Tchaikovsky       Violin Concerto 2 2 2 2; 4 2 0 0; Timp Strings
Shostakovich     Symphony No 5  2+1 2 2+1 2+1; 4 3 3 1; Timp, Snare, Triangle, Cymbals, Bass drum, Tam-Tam, Glock, Xylophone, Harp, Piano, Celeste, Strings

Rehearsals at BUCHS (except for 15 January) on Sunday 6 January, Tuesday 8 January, Tuesday 15 January (strings only at Brentwood School), Sunday 20 January (strings only), Tuesday 22 January, Sunday 27 January, Tuesday 29 January (with soloist), Sunday 3 February, Tuesday 5 February and at 2.00pm at St Thomas's Church on the concert day, Saturday 9 February.
Please bring a music stand to rehearsals as BUCHS no longer provides them.

Saturday 18 May 2019
7.30 p.m.
St Thomas' Church
St Thomas Road
Brentwood 
Essex CM14 4DF

Concert of Film Music
Conductor     David Pickthall
Leader           Charles Clark

Dambusters (Eric Coates)
Henry V Suite (William Walton)
Schindler's List (John Williams)  
Gabriel's Oboe (Ennio Morricone)
Henry Mancini medley 
Jurassic Park (John Williams) 

INTERVAL

North by Northwest (Bernard Herrmann)
Ladies in Lavender (Nigel Hess) 
Out of Africa (John Barry) 
Star Trek (Jerry Goldsmith)
Cinema Paradiso (Ennio Morricone)
ET (John Williams) 
Encore to be announced

Rehearsals at BUCHS on Tuesday 23 April, Sunday 28 April, Tuesday 30 April (strings only), Tuesday 7 May (strings only), Sunday 12 May, Tuesday 14 May and at 2.00pm on the concert day, Saturday 18 May.  There is no rehearsal on Sunday 5 May owing to the May Day bank holiday.  This means there are only 6 rehearsals plus the one on the day. 
Please bring a music stand to rehearsals as BUCHS no longer provides them.

Saturday 8 June 2019
Afternoon concert (time to be announced)
St Thomas's Church
St Thomas Road
Brentwood 
Essex CM14 4DF

Conductor        Brian Lynn
Leader             Charles Clark

A concert of concertos with soloists from the Brentwood Philharmonic Orchestra.  The programme will include:
Vivaldi - Spring from the Four Seasons
Mozart - Andantino from Concerto for Flute & Harp 
Copland - Quiet City 
and more

There will only be three rehearsals for this concert (dates being agreed). Given this and both the scoring and the nature of the works, it will not be possible to accommodate the whole orchestra.

Rehearsals at St Thomas's Church on Tuesday 21 May (evening), Saturday 1 June (afternoon) and Tuesday 4 June (evening) plus a rehearsal on the concert day.


FUTURE CONCERT DATES
Saturday 12 October 2019 at St Thomas's Church 
Conductor    Bradley Winand
Violin            Krassimira Jeliazkova-Jones
Cello             Veronica Henderson

Beethoven     Coriolan Overture
Brahms         Concerto for Violin & Cello
Beethoven     Symphony No 3 (Eroica)

Saturday 8 February 2020 (TBC)
Saturday 23 May 2020 (TBC)