Rehearsal Schedule and Scoring

Please see below for the scoring of works and for the BPO rehearsal schedule.  All BPO rehearsals are at the Brentwood Ursuline Convent High School, Queens’ Road, Brentwood, Essex CM14 4EX unless otherwise specified.  Tuesday rehearsals are 7.45-9.45 pm and Sunday rehearsals are 2.30-5.00 pm.  The rehearsals are for full orchestra unless otherwise specified. There is a final rehearsal for the whole orchestra on the day of the concert at the venue of the concert.

Please note that, except for the January "Music for the New Year" concert, the concert dress for BPO concerts is black shirts and trousers (no dinner jackets or bow ties) for men and all black for women.

For the January "Music for the New Year" concert, please wear a coloured top of one (preferably bright) colour - not patterned.  You may wish to discuss with your desk partner to avoid clashes!
 
Hard copies of the music will be available at the first rehearsal for the relevant concert.  In order to prepare for the rehearsals you may however wish to download your part for free from www.imslp.org.  This site has scores and separate instrumental parts for thousands of works which are out of copyright.  It has all the music for the October and May concerts. Leonard Bernstein's marked scores and parts for many works are available for study on archives.nyphil.org. Can be useful for fingerings in the string parts.


Concert on Saturday 14 October 2017
7.30 pm
Brentwood Ursuline Convent High School

Mozart           Overture to the Marriage of Figaro  2 2 2 2; 2 2 00; T Str
Mozart           Violin Concerto No 3 in G, K216    2 2 0 0; 2 0 0 0; Str
Mahler           Symphony No 4 in G   4 flutes (3&4 also piccolo), 3 oboes (3 also Cor anglais), 3 clarinets, incl E flat and bass, 3 bassoons (3 also contra), 4 horns, 3 trumpets, Timpani, Sleigh bells, Cymbals, GlockTriangle, Tam-tam, Bass drum, Harp, Strings, Soprano

Violin             Lydia Caines
Soprano        Chloë Treharne
Conductor     Bradley Winand
Leader          Charles Clark

Rehearsals at BUCHS on Tues 12 Sept (strings only), Sun 17 Sept, Tues 19 Sept, Sun 24 Sept (strings only), Tues 26 Sept (strings only), Sun 1 Oct, Sun 8 Oct, Tues 10 Oct and at 2.00pm on the concert day.  There will be no rehearsal on Tues 3 Oct as BUCHS Is not available that evening.

Bradley would like to rehearse as follows:

Tue 12th Sept            Mahler mvts 1 & 2.                                           Strings 

Sun 17th Sept            Mahler – play through. Overture if time.            Full

Tue 19th Sept            Mahler mvts 1 & 2. Overture.                            Full     

Sun 24th Sept            Mahler mvts 3 & 4.                                            Strings

Tue 26th Sept            Overture and concerto. Any urgent Mahler.       Strings

Sun 1st Oct                Concerto, then Mahler mvts 3 & 4.                           Full with concerto soloist

Sun 8th Oct                Mahler mvt 4 then all other mvts. Overture.      Full (incl all brass and percussion) with soprano soloist

Tue 10th Oct              Movements that need particular attention.        Full

Sat 14th Oct               2.00    Concerto                                                Full

                                  2.45    Overture

                                   3.00    Mahler mvt 1

3.30    Break

                                   3.45    Mahler mvts 2 - 4

                                    (times are a guide only)


"Music for the New Year" performed by members of the Brentwood Philharmonic Orchestra. 
2.30 pm
Sunday 14 January 2018
Brentwood Theatre, 15 Shenfield Road, Brentwood CM15 8AG

Music for the New Year from Egypt to Vienna, with old favourites, the odd surprise and lots of Strauss:

Monkton & Talbot    Overture to The Arcadians
Fauré                       Berceuse & Mi-a-ou from Dolly Suite
Ketelbey                   In a Monastery Garden
Debussy                   The Golliwogg's Cakewalk
Massenet                  Méditation from Thaïs
Rossini                     William Tell Galop
Luigini                      Ballet Egyptien
Strauss jnr                Roses from the South
Strauss jnr                Perpetuum Mobile
Strauss jnr                Blue Danube
Strauss snr               Radetzky March

Conductor       John Hawkins
Leader             Charles Clark

Given the limited space on stage, there is only room for a maximum of 24 players.  Sadly therefore we cannot accommodate the whole orchestra and, as in previous years, will be seeking volunteers and, if we have too many, may have to scale back.

Rehearsals will be 7.45-9.45 at the Brentwood Ursuline on the following Tuesday evenings:
 

and at Brentwood Theatre 10.00-12.00 on the concert day (we have the Theatre from 9.00 to allow for setting up).

Concert on Saturday 10 February 2018
7.30 p.m.
St Thomas' Church
St Thomas Road
Brentwood CM14 4DF

Conductor    Brian Lynn
Leader         Charles Clark

Charles Ives    Variations on "America"
Morton Gould   Pavane
Gershwin         Walking the Dog
Copland           Billy the Kid Suite    2 2 2 2; 4 3 3 1; T P Harp Piano Str
Bernstein         West Side Story Symphonic Dances  2 flutes, piccolo, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 4 clarinets (E flat, 2 B flat, bass in B flat), Alto sax, 2 bassoons, contra, 4 horns, 3 trumpets in B flat (1st doubling trumpet in D), 3 trombones, tuba, timps, 4 percussion, harp, piano/celeste, strings

Rehearsals at BUCHS on Sunday 7 January, Tuesday 16 Jan, Sunday 21 Jan (strings only), Tuesday 23 Jan (strings only), Sunday 28 Jan, Tuesday 30 Jan, Sunday 4 February, Tuesday 6 February and at 2.00 p.m. on the concert day, Saturday 10 February.

Concert on Saturday 19 May 2018
7.30 pm
Brentwood Ursuline Convent High School

Conductor      Dominic Grier
Leader           Charles Clark

Borodin         Overture, Prince Igor  2+1 2 2 2; 4 2 3 1; T Str 
Dvorak          Cello Concerto  2 2 2 2; 3 2 3 1; T Str
Brahms         Symphony No 4 2/1 2 2 2+1; 4 2 3 0; T Str

Rehearsals at BUCHS on Tuesday 17 April, Sunday 22 April, Tuesday 24 April (strings only), Sunday 29 April (strings only), Tuesday 1 May, Tuesday 8 May, Sunday 13 May, Tuesday 22 May and at 2.00pm on the concert day, Saturday 19 May.

There will be no rehearsal on Sunday 6 May because of the bank holiday weekend.